top of page

Finding all the answers from yourself - Tom Grennan's new album Lightening Matches. Month's

Hey everyone! I know I dont appear here that much recently, but I try to always come back as soon as possible with interesting, exciting and original masterpieces. So if you think that I forgot about this place then don't worry ;)


Recently I re-discovered this artist *I guess* and he has been in my mind for almost a week. Tom Grennan is a British singer and songwriter that been hanging out in music industry for a while and this year released his first studio album Lightening Matches.


Tom Grennan has very outstanding voice, what is my personal favorite. It is low, brutal and has that hoarse that make it sound sexy. I know, once you hear a song sung by voice with such a spice in it you cannot forget, but all this time that I listened to every song I could not quite put a finger on it. My mind is racing - had I heard Tom's songs before *because is definitely possible* or is there other artist with the same timbre? (let me know if there is a musician)


I listened to every song from Lightening Matches album and I would say that my favorite is Run in the Rain. You know that any song is some kind of monologue? Well, sure every of them is different, in some you direct your speech to another person, in other you tryin' to tell your story to everyone. This song is a monologue that directed to yourself. It feels like in those fantasy movies, where is the mirror in which reflection can talk. With every word, with every question that is sung you want to get those answers, but no one but You can really have them. As the song develops the tension behind the words gets higher, which should make you panicked, right? But what I actually feel is disorientation, the hopelessness and then belief.


Run in the Rain will definitely be different for every other listener and I think that Tom Grennan also might put a different meaning to the lyrics. But I think he didn't want to put his thoughts to other people brains, cause it is personal. That is why I find this song amazingly well built psychologically, without any pressure.


If you seek for something interesting, relaxing, sexy, outstanding and meaningful then I totally suggest you to go and listen to Tom Grennan's music. I bet everyone can find at least one song that will be close to your heart. ENJOY!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page