top of page

Life's too short to be dancing with a Devil, but it is long enough to listen to new Set It Off m

Hi everyone! Hope all of you had great holidays, cause I totally did and after that life was kind of crazy. But here I am, back, because I have found new awesome music *or better say it found me, as always*.


I am absolutely that person who appreciates all the genres and styles of music, but sometimes you just get tired of listening to mostly one of it. I am talking about pop music... It is fun, has great beats and mostly meaningful, but sometimes you just want to go wild. Punk and rock bands and singers are these "fire bringers" that shake my mind personally. And at this crazy time of mine I guess universe heard my pleas and one of the coolest bands, Set It Off, started to release their new singles from the upcoming album MIDNIGHT.


Set It Off might remind of a mix of some other bands, like I get some FOB vibes, but they ABSOLUTELY are something different. They have that perfect balance of edginess and softness in their music. There is no dominance of only one emotion, one style. My fave is totally Dancing with the Devil, cause in this one song Set It Off do so many stuff. They have full bridge in light recitative, they have these talking style pre-choruses, they have echoing effects for building tension that you get feeling that it will explode.


Beside music itself I am obsessed with lyrics. If most of the times I can get a full image behind texts then this time it confuses me a bit and I am totally into it. At one point I always thought that phrase 'Dancing with a Devil' means not only being in danger, but also taking risks. However here, Set It Off put the other phrase, that life's too short...So, that means you shouldn't take that big risks? Or maybe the talk is about a person? I like the version that singers put a man/woman behind that name of Devil, so then, by the progression of the song you can an image of unhealthy relationship that is not worthy to waste your life. But it also has a circular style, so by the end it feels like a narrator speaks to that person now but not himself like at the beginning.


Dancing with a Devil is quite a complicated peace, but absolute killer and totally worth listening. Also, Set It Off put and acoustic version of that song and totally nailed that one too, so check it out. Will be waiting for a full albums, will see what other aces they have.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page